Last edited: April 16, 2007



  • Statute: 76-5-403, Sodomy. Unconstitutional under Lawrence v. Texas
  • Penalty: 6 months/$299
  • Classification: Misdemeanor
  • Restrictions: None


76-5-403. Sodomy, Forcible sodomy

(1) A person commits sodomy when the actor engages in any sexual act with a person who is 14 years of age or older involving the genitals of one person and mouth or anus of another person, regardless of the sex of either participant.

(2) A person commits forcible sodomy when the actor commits sodomy upon another without the other's consent.

(3) Sodomy is a class B misdemeanor. Forcible sodomy is a felony of the first degree.

Amended by Chapter 88, 1983 General Session

1997 Reform bill to decriminalize sodomy between spouses - failed.


            1949     The Utah Supreme Court is the first to discuss the Kinsey Report in a sodomy decision.

            1969     Utah becomes the first state to lower the penalty for consensual sodomy in a bill whose sole function was to lower the penalty for consensual sodomy.



[Home] [News] [History]